Babylon Dead: The Underworld

Ever wondered what it would be like if Aardman ditched the kids TV angle and decided to take up arms in the eternal battle against law enforcement? Well look no further than the latest video from Babylon Dead, where they bring claymation vibes to their usual brand of anti-authoritarian ragga rap. The Underworld is the third single from their sophomore album, Book of the Dead, which is due for release on 4 September. The video was made by Chris Younes.

Babylon Dead: Nineteen84 + LP News

A very welcome and much needed return by Babylon Dead, as they bless us with the first single from their long-awaited second album. It’s been three years since Jman and Illinformed burst onto the scene with their refreshing brand of ragga-hip hop, tearing up stages and people’s preconceptions in the process. Now they’re back with Book of the Dead, an ambitious project which also features an accompanying graphic novel, courtesy of Greg Blackman. The first single, Nineteen84, saw its release today so go and absorb that, then get over to Bandcamp to secure your pre-order. Trust me, this is an essential one. The video for Nineteen84 was made by Rogue Ethic. The album is due for release on 4 September on RLD Records.

Leaf Dog: Live From The Balrog Chamber (Stream)

It’s been a few years since Leaf Dog released his last solo album, so it was nice to kick off 2020 with a new full-length from the RLD Records founder. Live From The Balrog Chamber is a prime example of how Leaf has managed to cultivate such a strong following over the years, thanks to his keen ear for soulful boom bap and his distinctive flows, which often stray into an almost singing-like tone. He also has an impressive reach for securing features, as was demonstrated with The Four Owls and DJ Premier collaboration a few years back. This new album carries on the tradition, as Leaf is joined by a bevy of underground legends, including Thirstin Howl III, Cella Dwellas, Havoc and The Last Emperor. Plus there are some guests from closer to home, with contributions from Smellington Piff and BVA. Weighing in at 18 tracks and with Leaf seemingly more on point than ever, both in terms of his production and his bars, Live From The Balrog Chamber is a fine addition to the RLD back catalogue and also a nice precursor for the new Four Owls album, which is due for release shortly. You can listen to the album in full below and physicals are available over at the RLD shop. Continue reading “Leaf Dog: Live From The Balrog Chamber (Stream)”

Leaf Dog: Love Is Love + LP News

The start of the new decade brings with it a new album from Leaf Dog, his first solo full-length since 2017’s much praised, Dyslexic Disciple. As you would expect from an artist with Leaf’s clout, the album comes with a hefty features roster, including spots from Havoc, Cella Dwellas and Grand Puba. Love Is Love is the lead single and features Leaf flying solo over some deliciously soulful production. You can hear it in full below. The album, Live From The Balrog Chamber, is set for release on 20 January on RLD Records.

Continue reading “Leaf Dog: Love Is Love + LP News”

Leaf Dog: Stop The WoRLD I Wanna Get Off Ep. 1 (Stream)

Leaf Dog is apparently set to bless us with a new album in the not too distant future and so to get us all in the mood, he has released a new collection of songs in the interim. Stop The WoRLD I Wanna Get Off is comprised of 10 new tracks featuring production from O.A.B, Illinformed and of course, Leaf himself. There is a single guest spot too from NY underground rap veteran, DV Alias Khryst. The project is ready to stream below and downloads are available via Bandcamp. More news on the album, when I’ve got it. Continue reading “Leaf Dog: Stop The WoRLD I Wanna Get Off Ep. 1 (Stream)”

BVA: Peep the EP (Stream)

Fresh out today comes the latest solo release from Four Owls MC, BVA. Despite keeping himself busy with The Four Owls, Brother of the Stone and his label duties at RLD, this is the first solo project we have had since his 2014 Be Very Aware LP. Peep the EP features four brand new tracks produced by Illinformed and Leaf Dog, with BVA’s pen-game and wordplay as sharp as ever. You can stream the EP below with downloads available via RLD Records. Continue reading “BVA: Peep the EP (Stream)”

Brothers of the Stone: Return to Stoney Island (Stream)

Big things from Brothers of the Stone as they return with their new album, Return to Stoney Island. It’s been three years since Leaf Dog, BVA and Illinformed released their self-titled debut album and during the hiatus the trio have been busy with various solo projects, and other crew affiliated releases. They have also found time to connect with some of rap’s finest, as Return to Stoney Island sees the Brothers being joined by Inspectah Deck, MOP and Young Zee, as well as recent rising voice, Rome Streetz. UK features come from regular sparring partners, Eric the Red and Smellington Piff. The album is available to stream below, plus there are CD and vinyl options over on the RLD store. Continue reading “Brothers of the Stone: Return to Stoney Island (Stream)”

Brothers of the Stone ft. Inspectah Deck: Overseers

It’s not long now until the new album from Brothers of the Stone is unleashed and last week saw the release of the next glimpse at what it holds in store. Overseers sees Leaf Dog, BVA and Illinformed uniting with none other than Wu favourite, Inspectah Deck. The video was made by Jess Daly. Return to Stoney Island is due for release on 4 December on RLD Records.

Brothers of the Stone ft. Inspectah Deck: Overseers

Big single from the upcoming album from Brothers of the Stone aka Leaf Dog, BVA and Illinformed. Leaf has a particular talent for drafting in some of rap’s bigger names for features and Overseers is no expection, as the trio are joined by Wu legend, Inspectah Deck. The track is lifted from Return to Stoney Island, which is due for release on RLD Records on 4 December.