Earl Sweatshirt x Alchemist: 45

Short but sweet is the M.O. on the latest from Earl and Alc, as they deliver 45. Earl sounds more alive than he has done for a while, which is definitely not something I am complaining about, and the sampling is as masterful as ever.

Earl Sweatshirt ft. Maxo: Whole World

This new Maxo-assisted single from Earl Sweatshirt was released a few days ago and in the process, it reignited calls for a full-length collaboration between him and Alchemist. They reconnect again on Whole World, reminding us of their natural chemistry, with Alc’s sparse bass-heavy production ridden perfectly by Earl’s staggered and meandering flows. Whole World is out now on all streaming and download platforms.

Quelle Chris & Chris Keys ft. Earl Sweatshirt, Denmark Vessey, Merrill Garbus & Big Sen: MIRAGE

A hefty track here from Quelle Chris and Chris Keys, as they keep the hype up for their forthcoming return to the Innocent Country. On MIRAGE, they are joined by a superb list of guests, as Earl Sweatshirt, Denmark Vessey, Merrill Garbis and Big Sen all add their flavours to the mix. It’s probably my favourite cut from the album yet, with the exception of Sudden Death, which is just a sort of beautiful anomaly. You can stream MIRAGE below and pre-orders for Innocent Country 2 are also available. It’s out on 24 April via Mello Music Group. Continue reading “Quelle Chris & Chris Keys ft. Earl Sweatshirt, Denmark Vessey, Merrill Garbus & Big Sen: MIRAGE”

Earl Sweatshirt: Nowhere, Nobody (Film)

Nowhere, Nobody is a new experimental short film, that serves as a sort of accompaniment to Earl’s most recent album, Some Rap Songs. The film features appearances from Earl himself, as well as a variety of supporting cast members and a score comprised of songs from the new album. in terms of description, you’re really better off just watching the film yourself and trying to decipher some of the more surreal scenes. Nowhere, Nobody was directed by Naima Ramos-Chapman and Terence Nance. Some Rap Songs is out now on Tan Cressida.

The Alchemist: Bread EP (Stream)

Excellent new release from The Alchemist, as he drafts in a whole wealth of talent on his latest project. The Bread EP features Earl Sweatshirt – the video for which was released last week – alongside appearances from Conway, Westside Gunn, Black Thought and Roc Marciano. Considering the whole thing only weighs in at four tracks – plus four instrumentals – Alc has managed to cram in a hell of a lot of dope. It also features some of the most glorious cover art of 2018. You can stream the Bread EP below, as well as on all the other usual platforms. Continue reading “The Alchemist: Bread EP (Stream)”

The Alchemist ft. Earl Sweatshirt: E Coli

The Alchemist has a new EP dropping in the next couple of days, featuring a few rap luminaries, including the recently rejuvenated, Earl Sweatshirt. Yesterday saw the release of their collaboration, accompanied by a slightly strange video from Jason Goldwatch, involving a sex scene between two Power Ranger types. The full EP, Bread, is available to pre-order now.

Earl Sweatshirt ft. Navy Blue: The Mint

Not only do we have the pleasure of another new track from Earl Sweatshirt, we also have confirmation that his new album is definitely looming large. Earlier today the Odd Future MC released The Mint, which features SLUMS affiliate, Navy Blue and then that was sharply followed by news that his latest album, Some Rap Songs, will be released on 30 November. No tracklist yet, but you can pre-order the album now over on Earl’s site. The Mint is produced by Black Noi$e and you can listen to it below. Continue reading “Earl Sweatshirt ft. Navy Blue: The Mint”

Earl Sweatshirt: Nowhere2go

Yesterday Earl Sweatshirt returned from a three year hiatus with a brand new song. Nowhere2go is his first release since 2015, when he dropped I Don’t Like Shit, I Don’t Go Outside. Hopefully this new single signals the imminent arrival of his new album – an album already heralded as a masterpiece by Alchemist. Nowhere2go is produced by Darryl Johnson and Adé Hakim Sayyed (FKA Sixpress).

Denmark Vessey: Trustfall

One of my favourite Detroit MCs is coming back with an interesting new project.
Denmark Vessey’s, Sun Go Nova, will be split into two volumes – the first being five tracks produced by KNXWLEDGE and Earl Sweatshirt and the second being a beat tape from Vessey himself. The Crown Nation MC hooked up with the two producers when he was in LA, after Earl had earlier sang the praises of Martin Lucid Dream.
Sun Go Nova is due out on Mello Music Group on 20 April and you can get a taster with the new video for Trustfall above. Pre-orders for the project are available on all the usual platforms.