Search results for: "son of sam"

New video for one of my favourite tracks, lifted from one of my favourite albums of 2017 – Cinder Hill by Son Of Sam. In case you were sleeping last year, Son of Sam are a band from the UK, who enlisted the ample talents of a whole range of great US artists to bless their debut album. The names involved included J-Live, Guilty Simpson, Masta Ace and Dumbtron aka Paten Locke and Willie Evans Jr. The latter came through in fine form on Moose Python, which has now been given the video treatment, courtesy of Willie Evans Jr himself. The album is out now via Tea Sea Records.

Every time Son of Sam release a new single, it becomes my favourite track of the moment. This time round they have enlisted the plentiful skills of Crown Nation affiliate, Denmark Vessey, on System Animal. It’s the next track to be taken from their excellent new album, Cinder Hill, which is out now on Tea Sea Records.

As I’ve said before, this album from four-piece hip hop band, Son of Sam, is looking set to be something of a triumph. Last week I posted a video for Come A Long Way, which featured Masta Ace and Large Pro and this week sees the arrival of Flying Fist, featuring another lauded MC, Prince Po. The full album, Cinder Hill, is released on Tea Sea Records on 29 September.

The extremely talented bunch of musicians who form Son Of Sam have a new album en route, featuring a whole host of equally-talented MCs, including this track with Masta Ace and Large Professor. The Tom Caruana produced Come A Long Way, sits alongside tracks featuring J-Live, Prince Po, Guilty Simpson, Sadat X and many more. To see the full tracklist and pre-order the album, visit the SOS Bandcamp. Cinder Hill is due for release on 29 September.

Following on from my earlier post about the new collaboration between Detroit rapper, Guilty Simpson, and Auckland producer, Leonard Charles, I thought I would share a couple more tracks from the album. GUILTY and Nobody continue in the same psychedelic vein as the opening track, thanks to Charles’ stash of 60’s and 70’s New Zealand acid rock records. The full album sees its release this Friday, with pre-orders available on Bandcamp. You can stream the three already released tracks below. (more…)

Detroit legend, Guilty Simpson, is starting 2020 the right way, with the imminent release of a new project, alongside experimental electronic producer, Leonard Charles. Going by the name, The Leonard Simpson Duo, the two artists have created something of a psychedelic trip, thanks largely to Charles’ sample selection from niche New Zealand acid rock records. The video for the lead single, My Inspiration, was released a few days ago, which you can watch below and pre-orders for LSD – featuring what could be the best cover art of the year – are available now. The album is set for release on 31 January via Jakarta Records. (more…)

To coincide with the release of the Breaking Bad film sequel, El Camino, Strange Neighbour is dropping a remix version of his 2014 Heisenberg EP. It looks set to be a strong selection judging by the first leak – a reworking of the Let’s Fly posse cut, from the legendary Chemo. The track features a great line-up, with Bristol sons Datkid and Sirplus, joining forces with Jack Diggs and Oliver Sudden, all backed up with some expert cuts from Sammy B-Side. The full project is due for release at the end of the month on Revorg Records.

Bronson back at it with the title track from his forthcoming album, White Bronco. The project is being hailed as his first independent work in years, which is fine by me as his last offering didn’t really hit the same spot as his earlier material. For this first taste he has enlisted the skills of Griselda favourite, Daringer, alongside SVU. More news on the album soon.

Brum and MCR unite on the new track from EatGood head honcho, SonnyJim and LEVELZ favourite, Sparkz. The two MCs share the same star sign, which gave rise to the name of the track, with the duo going verse for verse over a dusty looped beat from Sonny. The cuts come courtesy of Voodoo Black’s own DJ Cutterz. You can stream Virgoism below. (more…)

As I mentioned last week, the infamous Ramson Badbonez is back with a new album and Bloodsplat is the next track to be lifted from it. He goes in on the horrorcore angle, which won’t be everyone’s cup of tea, but his dexterity on the mic is as on point as ever. Not sure who produced the track, but it’s same sample that Dike used in Don’t Make Me by Lee Scott – one for my fellow geeks. The video was made by Luca Bowles. Jason Bonez is out now on High Focus Records.